Blog Single

17 Sep

Costa Rica Welcoming US Travelers Again, But Only From 12 Regions

Americans will once again be allowed to travel to Costa Rica in September 2020 — but only if you have a driver’s license proving you live in one of 12 select regions.

Costa Rica’s Tourism Minister Gustavo Segura initially announced that the Central American country would allow U.S. travelers from just six states: Connecticut, Maine, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, and Vermont. Visitors would need to provide a driver’s license or equivalent government-issued I.D. in order to verify that they live in one of the approved states.

However, that approved list has since been expanded to 12 total regions. Residents of Maryland, Virginia, and Washington, D.C. can also now enter Costa Rica, while travelers from Pennsylvania, Massachusetts, and Colorado will be allowed in beginning Sept. 15.

Want more travel news and advice delivered to your inbox lately? Sign up for TPG’s daily newsletter. 

“The entry of travelers from these 12 states is allowed because they currently have an epidemiological condition similar or lower levels of contagion to those of Costa Rica,” Segura said on Aug. 27.

While private flights and yachts will also be allowed into the country starting Sept. 1, those will be approved entry on a case-by-case basis.

Of course, you’ll still need a passport to enter and proof of onward travel to exit Costa Rica like usual. But without an accompanying driver’s license or accepted government-issued I.D., you won’t be permitted to enter the country.

You can read more about traveling to Costa Rica here. 

U.S. travelers do not need a visa to enter Costa Rica, but you do need a valid passport. Our team is always available to assist you in getting your passport or other travel documents. If you require assistance, please contact us at or call 713-874-1420.

Related Posts